About Us

Our committee have a wide range of experience and bring together a unique blend of skills that help form and develop our programme. The committee meets once every month to discuss the continual development of the organisation's programme and purpose.

Our Committee Members


Chris Rickard (Chair) - Chris uses his personal experience of deafness to be a support to others, including incorporating his own story into deaf awareness training. He takes great pride in being the first chair of our organisation.


Jean Tennick (Treasurer) - Having thirty years experience of working in a bank makes Jean the ideal choice to look over our finances and she is keen to share her own experience of deafness to help support others.

Pat Craigie - Pat gained her level one BSL sign language qualification many years ago and brings her range of life experiences to the organisation.

Ann Dewar- Ann is deaf herself and enjoys the camaraderie of lipreading and signing. She is also enthusiastic in her deaf awareness drama performances and contributions to signed singing.


Emma Hindmarch - Emma enjoys practicing sign language on an informal basis and she has a level 2 speech to text using voice recognition software certificate. Her main interest is in mental health law. 

Christine Knott - Christine enjoys the fun of signed singing, is committed to advancing her sign language skills and is ever ready with raffle donations and stall ideas.

Slava Reay - Slava is a friendly, creative and positive person. She loves nature and animals and is interested in different social projects, such as supporting people with learning disabilities and elderly people.

Derek Craigie - ​Is the deaf awareness: NE Project Co-ordinator and acts as Secretary to the Board of Trustees. Derek has over fifteen years experience of working with deaf people and has worked with a variety of community groups for over 30 years.


If you are interested in being considered as a member of our committee, we'd love to hear from you. Please get in touch for an initial discussion. You can also download a copy of our Constitution below: